

ATEF Z. ELSHERBENI

IEEE Life Fellow (2007) - ACES Fellow (2008)

IEEE Fellow Citation:

For contributions to computational electromagnetics, antenna and microwave applications, and engineering education.

Teaching/Research Awards:

- IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society, 2023 **Harrington-Mittra Computational Electromagnetics Award** for contributions to computational electromagnetics with hardware acceleration techniques
- IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Distinguished Lecturer (2020-2023)
- The 2013 Applied Computational Electromagnetic Society (ACES) Technical Achievement Award
- The 2012 University of Mississippi Distinguished Research and Creative Achievement Award
- The 2011 School of Engineering Senior Research Award, Outstanding Performance in Research
- The 2006 School of Engineering Senior Research Award, Outstanding Performance in Research
- The 2005 School of Engineering Faculty Service Award, Outstanding Performance in Service
- The 2003 Mississippi Academy of Science, Outstanding Contributions to Science Award
- The 2002 IEEE, Region 3, Joseph Biedenback Outstanding Engineering Educator Award
- The 2002 School of Engineering, Outstanding Engineering Faculty of the Year Award
- The 2001 Department of Electrical Engineering, Researcher/Scholar of the Year Award
- The 1996 IEEE Memphis Section, Outstanding Engineering Educator Award

Service Awards:

- The 2019 Applied Computational Electromagnetic Society (ACES) Outstanding Service Award for contributions to the ACES Journal and conferences.
- The 2014 Applied Computational Electromagnetic Society (ACES) Outstanding Service Award as 2013 ACES Symposium Chair
- The 2004 Applied Computational Electromagnetic Society (ACES) Valued Service Award for Outstanding Service as 2003 ACES Symposium Chair
- The 2003 Applied Computational Electromagnetic Society (ACES) Exemplary Service Award for Leadership and Contributions as Electronic Publishing Managing Editor and as a Journal Editor-in-Chief
- The 2001 Applied Computational Electromagnetic Society (ACES) Exemplary Service Award for Leadership and Contributions as Electronic Publishing Managing Editor 1999-2001

Joint Awards with Graduate Students:

- Madison Le, First place in Modeling and Simulation category, Mines GRADS Competition, "Subgridding errors in Standard and Hybrid Higher Order FDTD Simulations", 2020.
- Rachel Lumnitzer and Allison Tanner, Second place in Engineering Category, Mines GRADS Competition, "One Dimensional FDTD in Dispersive Media for Biomedical Imaging Applications", 2020.
- Madison Le, third position of best Student Paper Award presented at the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES) Symposium, Miami, FL, April 2019.
- Robert Jones, and Joseph Denier, third position of IEEE APS Student Design Contest, "CubeSat

Atef Elsherbeni



- Antenna Design", presented at the 2017 IEEE APS-URSI Symposium, San Diego, CA, July 2017.
- First position of best Student Paper Award presented at the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES) Symposium, Monterey, CA, March 2013
- Third position of best Student Paper Award presented at the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES) Symposium, Monterey, CA, March 2013
- Third position of best Student Paper Award presented at the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES) Symposium, Monterey, CA, March 2009
- First position of best Student Paper Award presented at the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES) Symposium, Verona, Italy, March 2007
- First place of best student presentation, Sigma Xi, Engineering IV, The University of Mississippi, Oxford, MS, March 2007
- Second place award for student paper presented at the International Center for Radio Science Conference, India, December 2006
- First place of best Student Paper Award presented at the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES) Symposium, Miami, Florida, March. 2006
- First place of best paper, Engineering and Physics Division in Mississippi Academy of Science (MAS), 2004
- First place of best Student Paper Award presented at the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES) Symposium, Hawaii, March. 2004